skip to main content

Twin Rivers Unified School District

Twin Rivers Unified School District

Special Education

We Maximize students’ potential! 

We Maximize students’ potential! 

The TRUSD Special Education Services Department values the unique needs of all students through a culture of collaboration by inspiring student success every day. 
clipart of special education kids holding hands
Our services

Our services

The Twin Rivers Unified School  District  provides a wide range of services and programs to meet the needs of students eligible for Special Education services, ages 3-22. Most of these services can be provided for qualified students at local schools in collaboration with general education programs. However, some services and programs are only available at specified schools throughout the District and may require enrollment at a designated site. Our department includes speech and language specialists, psychologists, special education teachers and Para educators. The Special Education Department supports the mission of the district by:
•    Coordinating special education programs and processes
•    Supporting the district's educational programs
•    Meeting federal and state requirements

Special Education Department Phone Number  916-566-1617

Special Education staff are available to answer the Department Mainline during regular business hours, 8:00-4:00. To reach a staff member, please call our main line.  If you are calling after business hours, please leave a message and special education staff will return your call.



          Kathleen Walker                                                                                     Joy Davis
Executive Director, Special                                                                   Special Education Director
          Director Special Education
          and SELPA                                                            


          Johana Scott                                                                           Michelle Cortichiato
          Preschool Coordinator                                                         K-8 and 7/8 Sites Coordinator
          Mara Gonzalez                                                                         Michelle Boyd Arenas
          Elementary Coordinator                                                       9-12 and MPR Coordinator

Program Specialists

Anji Toy                                                                                                                  Lauren Hamilton
Program Specialist                                                                                            Program Specialist
Gayle Green                                                                                                         Michaela Buschow
Program Specialist                                                                                             Program Specialist
Julie Marion                                                                                                         Sara Kline
Program Specialist                                                                                             Program Specialist
Jullian Hall
Program Specialist

Department Teachers

Carol Myers                                                                                                           Lana Chavez
Department Teacher                                                                                          Department Teacher
Debra Thomas                                                                                                      Maryann Polson
Department Teacher                                                                                          Department Teacher
Jonathan Delplanque                                                                                       Tela Boothe
Department Teacher                                                                                           Department Teacher
Kelli Lorenz
Department Teacher


Behavior Specialists

Support Staff